Providing Network Professionals The Edge

North American Numbering Plan (NANP) and E.164 Recommendations

What do you think of this post?
  • Awesome 
  • Interesting 
  • Useful 
  • Boring 
  • Sucks 

The following is a map of international calling codes from around the world:

Zone 1:  NANP countries and territories

Numbers beginning with +1 represent North America and mostly Caribbean island countries, not including Mexico or Central America. They are further broken down into NPA’s (Numbering Plan Area codes).

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sint Maarten[4]
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United States
  • United States Virgin Islands

Zone 2 – Mostly Africa (but also, for example Aruba, Faroe Islands and Greenland)

Numbers beginning with +2 denote mostly African countries, some Atlantic and Indian Ocean islands as well. Aside from +20 which is Egypt, typically these countries or areas will use the full three digits in the CC (Country Code) section of the E.164 number:  +2XX

Zones 3/4 – Europe

Originally larger countries, such as the United Kingdom or France, were assigned two-digit codes (to compensate for their usually longer domestic numbers) and small countries, such as Iceland, were assigned three-digit codes; however, since the 1980s, all new assignments have been three-digit regardless of countries’ populations.

These countries typically utilize 2 or 3 digits in the CC field:  +3X or +3XX  &  +4X or +4XX.

Zone 5 – Mostly Latin America

Numbers beginning with +5 denote Mexico, Central America and South America countries. These countries have 2 or 3 digits in the CC field:  +5X or +5XX

Zone 6 – Southeast Asia and Oceania

Numbers beginning with +6 denote Southeast Asia and Oceania countries. These countries have 2 or 3 digits in the CC field:  +6X or +6XX

Zone 7 – Eurasia (former Soviet Union)

Numbers beginning with +7 denote former Soviet Union countries such as Russia and Kazakhstan.

Zone 8 – East Asia and Special Services

Numbers beginning with +8 denote East Asia countries and Special Services numbers. These countries have 2 or 3 digits in the CC field: +8X or +8XX

Zone 9 – Central, South and Western Asia

Numbers beginning with +9 denote West, South and Central Asian countries. These countries have 2 or 3 digits in the CC field:  +9X or +9XX



Sign Up for Free UoverIP Learning Letters

  • UC Networking Tips and How-To's
  • Useful links to Unified Communication resources
  • Detailed Tutorials on configuring Cisco systems and integrations
  • UC Tools and Tricks of the Trade - applications, software and more

Whatcha waiting for?

About Behzad Munir

Behzad Munir, P.Eng, is a Voice Solutions Consultant working in Toronto, Canada


Thank you for the information you have effectively shared through the post. for many other numbering procedure you can log in through 

%d bloggers like this: